the punch line

18 Jul

I have a bad habit. I laugh at my own jokes. Like, a lot. Once, Josh and I got caught in a short hail storm in Washington DC, and as we peered out of the car windows at the little ice bombs dropping from the sky, I shouted with mock indignance, “OH HAIL NO!”

I almost died laughing at that line–and not just a “funny ha ha” laugh, but the deep-bellied Gina laugh some of you might recognize as especially, ahem, boisterous–while Josh just had to sit and wait my laughter storm out. (Confession: Sometimes one of us will bring this little anecdote up, and I laugh all over again. I’m pretty sure you know you’ve got a good joke when it still cracks you up years later. Even if you’re the only one laughing. …Right??)

I think they meant to use the “Chelada” font to spell the word “Gross”

Fast forward to last night, when my sweet husband drove me to the grocery store to get some mint cookie ice cream. He had been craving a beer himself, and I suggested he get a can of Bud Light & Clamato–one of his favorites (despite earning an official Beer Advocate score of Awful).*

Josh shrugged. “I don’t think Bud Light & Clamato will go well with the ice cream.”

“Um, Bud Light & Clamato doesn’t go good with itself,” I shot back.

There was the tiniest silence before it happened. I roared–I am so witty you guys!

“Gina… that wasn’t even that funny.” Josh noted tenderly between my giggle fits.

And you know what? I kind of see his point. But it was too late, the Gina Joke laughter dam was broken.

 

* This review sums up the Bud Light & Clamato nicely:

It’s somewhat tolerable, didn’t make me gag too much and I might’ve been able to nurse it until it was gone, except you weren’t kind enough to put it in a regular 12-ounce can.

Oh no.

Instead you decided to put your clammy concoction in a huge 24-ounce aluminum jug, making it impossible to finish without it getting warm, which makes the Chelada feel like someone rinsed their mouth with it and spit it back into the can.

5 Responses to “the punch line”

  1. Jacqui July 18, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    I have a funny joke that cracks me up even years later. It involves ants and ice cream. Every time anyone tells the story I laugh just as you described your own laughter, but you get mad at me. Party pooper.

    • Gina Savory July 18, 2014 at 11:40 am #

      I should have included a disclaimer: No children were scarred in the making of my jokes, MOM.

      • Jacqui July 18, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

        You’re fine. Spectacular in fact. No harm done, sweetheart.

  2. Amanda July 18, 2014 at 8:38 pm #

    Firstly, I love a good Gina laugh-a-thon, I don’t care what brings it on. Secondly, I also crack myself up so bad it’s embarrassing. You are not alone! Finally, I also like Chelada, but I think it’s because I love all things tomato juice-y. Hope I get to hear that laugh in person soon! XO

    • Gina Savory July 19, 2014 at 8:53 am #

      lol, we should start a “gawd i’m hilarious” club. I think Josh likes the Chelada for the tomato juice thing, too–you two also share an unfathomable love of bloody marys. :) xoxo!

Leave a comment