triple berry pie

13 Jul

Josh’s favorite dessert is triple berry pie, but I’ve never had the time or courage to make him one. Or a pie plate. But when that issue was resolved thanks to a sweet find at Goodwill, I knew it was time to conquer this new realm of desserts.

Now pie isn’t just about baking. There’s something about pie making that just seems very… connected to me. Pie is so homey, so full of the earth and family and goodness. Like a big, warm hug full of love.

Since this was my First Pie Ever, I turned to my go-to recipe site, Williams Sonoma, and used their Summer Berry Pie and basic pie dough recipes. My pie included blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. And guess what! Making pies completely from scratch is not really that hard! My First Pie Ever turned out great:

::hugs::

you’ve been pie hugged!

This is fantastic news for Josh, because it means there will likely be lots of new pie experiments in our future. The other plus of making pie? Not only do you get to give your freshly made pie-hug to people you love to enjoy, it earns you lots of extra hugs and kisses of your own from your hubby. :)

 

Do you have a favorite crust/filling recipe? What are your pie-making tips? TELL ME YOUR SECRETS!!!

6 Responses to “triple berry pie”

  1. jamie July 13, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    I don’t have any pie secrets. The only pie I make is my Grandma Copeland’s Christmas Apple Pie, and she was pretty much the Sandra Dee/Semi Homemade of her time. My real comments are #1: mmmmmmmm, pie and #2: I’m thrilled to see your blog pop up in my reader! So glad to read your latest kitchen adventure! xoxo

    • Gina Welker July 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm #

      hi jamie!! this christmas apple pie sounds delicious. have you made it yourself? my craving for pumpkin pie around the holidays is voracious, and i usually focus on devouring as much of that as i can between thanksgiving and new year’s. :)

  2. Jacqui July 14, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

    My favorite part of pie making is rolling out the dough. There is something about it that’s relaxing and Zen-like to me. Eating it is great of course too! So happy to see your blog again. Oh, and your pie looks amazing. Love the tiny heart in the center.

    • Gina Welker July 16, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

      thanks, mama! the dough situation was so much less stressful than i thought it would be–although i think i prefer your recipe to williams sonoma’s. speaking of which, can you send it to me? :D love you!

  3. Amanda July 14, 2014 at 10:09 pm #

    YEAH to the return of hot plate! Your pie looked stupendous. I am not much of a pie person, but I will have to try the dough recipe down here. :)

    • Gina Welker July 16, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

      woot woot! thank you for the compliment! i am getting more into pie as i get older… although to be honest i love plain fresh fruit just as much. remember when we went berry picking in tallahassee? that was the BEST. i am trying to find a place around here to pick peaches for my next adventure…

Leave a Reply

