best foodie moments in film

19 Mar

What are the best foodie moments in film? My favorite is the episode of True Blood where Sookie’s grandmother dies. Sookie is berieved, but constantly surrounded by others and unable to grieve. Finally alone, she sits down at the kitchen table and eats an entire pecan pie her grandma made. I love this scene, because it feels like the first moment she gives in, bite by bite, to her loss–savoring the last of her grandmother’s earthly delights.

True Blood_pecan pie scene 

Ironically, the only place I could find the video was on a blog bashing the scene as "completely devoid of emotional impact."

Runner up: The egg scene in Cool Hand Luke.

What else deserves to go on the list?

6 Responses to “best foodie moments in film”

  1. mimitabby March 19, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    for a while we focused on “food films” but what comes to my mind was the barbequed ribs scene in “fried green tomatoes”

    • Gina Welker March 20, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      josh mentioned that one when i asked him, too! i am kicking myself because while i love that movie, i just cannot remember that scene. i sense a movie weekend in my future…

      • mimitabby March 20, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

        uh, yeah. It’s the biggest deal in the entire movie!

  2. mimitabby March 19, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    also I recommend “Big Night,” “Chocolat,” “moonstruck”, and “Like Water for Chocolate”

  3. Lahronda Little April 14, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Like Water for Chocolate gets my vote :)

  4. Jacqui October 25, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    The diner scene in “When Harry Met Sally”. That’s my favorite one.

Leave a comment