lord, give me strength… with a side of chick-fil-a sauce

22 Jan
chick-fil-a chargrilled chicken sandwich

so delicious. so healthy. so... evil?

Friends, I have a gastronomic dilemma of the ethical variety.  Before I get into the details, though, let’s just talk about all the reasons  my favorite fast food restaurant, Chick-fil-a, is AWESOME:

  1. Those cows are so right–chicken just tastes better than beef.
  2. Chick-fil-a is healthy. Not if you order fried chicken strips, french fries and a milkshake–but they have a robust selection of healthy options that are all delicious. Every single one! My favorite is the chargrilled chicken sandwich (pictured above) with a side salad. The salad comes with sunflower seeds, y’all! SUNFLOWER SEEDS. Anything to say to that, McDonald’s? I didn’t think so.
  3. Their customer service is stellar. Not only are the people nice, but when there was a tomato shortage a couple of years ago, they actually added a line item to my receipt refunding me the 10 cents for the slice of tomato that was missing from my sandwich.
  4. Every winter, they have the most delicious peppermint milkshake in the world. Okay, maybe not in the world, but trust me, it’s yummy.
  5. Do you really want anything except a chicken biscuit when you have a hangover?

And yet, despite being the fast-food love of my life (imma call you, Taco Bell!), I am sad to say the Chick-fil-a apparently has not-so-friendly views about homosexuals.

…INSERT SAD/CONFUSED/HUNGRY FACE HERE.

And that brings us to the place where I need your advice. I have been trying really, really hard to not eat at Chick-fil-a since learning this news… but I’ll be honest. One one hand, sometimes I need to grab lunch to go–and when I do, I’d really prefer that lunch be healthy. On the other hand, I also don’t want my lunch to be supporting hate. I mean, if Chick-fil-a were donating $2 million to the Klu Klux Klan, it would take me and I hope not a few other people about .5 milliseconds to stop eating there completely. Why am I still tempted now?

What do you guys think? Do I bite the bullet and stick with the only healthy (and delicious) fast food gig in town–or put my money where my mouth is and swear off the beloved chargrilled chicken sandwich completely? So far, Chick-fil-a is winning in spite of myself. Help!

7 Responses to “lord, give me strength… with a side of chick-fil-a sauce”

  1. mimi torchia boothby watercolors January 23, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    vote with your feet. I do believe in boycotting businesses that support hate. I do it as much as I can (I don’t know about all of them). I still can’t eat nestle’s chocolate because of what they did to babies in 3rd world nations

    • Gina Welker January 25, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      mimi, i’m afraid to even google this nestle thing… i definitely agree that it’s hard to keep a moral compass on every company out there. i think writing them a letter or something would also make me feel better.

  2. Chris January 23, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    I understand your dilemma completely. Brittany and I are both against what corporate Chick-Fil-A supports. The decision for me is made on past experiences. I worked at Chick-Fil-A as a teenager (mostly for the free chicken) and I knew of at least two of my co-workers were homosexual. The owner and managers had no problems with it, nor did the employees. I know how dedicated to the restaurants’ owner was, and still is. We goto his restaurant not to support Chick-Fil-A but to support him. It’s a horrible thing that the corporate office supports but it brings me some comfort knowing that the individual restaurants don’t necessarily share the same beliefs. Make sense?

    • Gina Welker January 25, 2012 at 9:21 am #

      thanks for the comment, chris! i’m so glad you brought up the franchise thing, and that definitely makes me feel better (although not great). i can’t imagine how chick-fil-a’s homosexual employees must feel about the company’s leanings.

  3. Alyssa Brown January 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Gina, I have the same struggle. I don’t feed my kids typical fast food (McDonald’s, Burger King, etc.) EVER. It’s the one thing I do right all the time. But I do let them have the “fast food experience” of going through the drive-thru at Chick-Fil-A. I have not found another place that I can drive through and get healthy grilled chicken, salad and wraps. Since I learned about the company’s corporate views, I have cut down on our visits, but I can’t lie — I have not managed to cut them out entirely. McKenna loves their chicken so much that she asks for it by name when we drive by and she sees the logo. What’s a mom to do?

    • Gina Welker January 25, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      alyssa, you and i are in the exact same boat. i’ve definitely cut down but just haven’t been able to cut them out completely, either. i feel like chick-fil-a is this friend that is otherwise completely awesome, except for this one (admittedly majorly crappy) flaw. i love them too much to hate them, but i am, as my parents would say, “very disappointed in them.”

  4. Jacqui aka Mom February 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    I think ChickFilet should be dead to you. Find another healthy option from a company with less predjudices. It’s hard enough to find someone to love and build a life and home with together. And if that person happens to be of the same sex then so be it. Love is a wonderful gift not to be taken lightly. We have to fight for the things we believe in and stand by our friends and family who encounter hostitily.

Leave a Reply

