fruit, you so crazy!

22 May
Kiwano Melon

Kiwano Melon. Definitely NOT available at your local grocery store.

Stumbled across this slideshow, The 10 Most Beautiful Exotic Fruits In The World, on BuzzFeed and had to share because not only are the pics crazygorgeouscool, but the flavors sound AMAZING! Take our little friend here, the Kiwano melon, which the site says “tastes like a mix of bananas, limes, and cucumbers.” Um, yes please!

Life is so cool, you guys. I mean, how does stuff like this even exist, much less be delicious?? I remember the first time I tried a kiwi, I was in Spain and my señora gave me one after dinner. I had seen them before but never had one, and that first bite was one of the most delightful moments my tastebuds have ever experienced. I bet these fruits are just as fun.

4 Responses to “fruit, you so crazy!”

  1. Mimi May 22, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I’m going to have to talk to your mother about this. You never had a KIWI until you went to Europe??!

    If you have any possible opportunity, try a Mangostein, they are food of the gods… The starfruit, the rambotan they’re ok… I like the dragon fruit too, but it’s kind of mild like watermelon. The only one of those I’ve never had was the limoncillo. Jackfruit is REEALLLY good, kind of like pineapple

    • Gina Welker May 23, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      I’m so jealous you’ve tried all those fruits! They are definitely on my bucket list.

  2. Kathyrn Neal June 30, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I actually bought this exact fruit, on pleas from my daughter, last month. Big news: its is AWFUL. It looks cool, but is completely goopy and not yummy. Jackfruit, however….OMG. So Good. Try that instead.

    • Gina Welker July 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      That is heartbreaking! Will keep my eye out for the jackfruit, though. Thanks for the heads up!!

Leave a Reply

