¡hot plate! broken-glass jello

6 Dec

Okay, this plate is technically not hot, but it is cool in pretty much in every sense of the word. Before I get to the broken-glass jello, though, some background: As luck would have it, a few weeks before I moved from Florida to DC, I met a great guy named Josh who’s now my boyfriend (yay!). This is especially important for the purposes of this blog because 1) he introduced me to this recipe and 2) guys, his last name is Savory. (Yes, really, and yes, I take way too much pleasure in that fact.)

I know what you’re thinking: Gina, I don’t care if this guy has the best foodie surname on earth, I’m not taking a recipe featuring JELLO seriously–because that’s pretty much what went through my head when Josh told me about it. But then he sent me pictures, and I realized any food that can look this bright, happy and fun deserves a shot.

Broken Glass Jello--cool, huh?

Broken-glass jello is a holiday tradition in the Savory household, and I was delighted to try it out with my family this Thanksgiving. My nieces and nephew had fun helping make it, and everyone–even my mom, who hates jello–had fun eating it. This dish earns two yums up!

6 Responses to “¡hot plate! broken-glass jello”

  1. Tes December 6, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    that jello looks so cool and fun. We had something like that in Thailand. It’s delicious :)

    • Gina Welker December 6, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

      Thanks, Tes! It was surprisingly tasty. I never knew jello brought so many nations together; my boyfriend’s fam is Armenian and it was his grandmother that originally carried out this tradition. Cool!

      PS–Love your blog! I’ve got my eye on the prawn w/ capsicum and hot & sweet snapper recipes…

  2. Tammy Brannon December 7, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    Gina,

    I love this idea! I am going to have to try it out for a family get together later this month!

    Miss your smiling face here at MCG!

  3. Kathyrn Neal June 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    My mom did Thanksgiving jello every year that dripped into the mashed potatos….most often in a mold with an insane added “flair” (walnuts? really?) This actually looks edible…kudos to the savorys! Kathryn

    • Gina Welker July 15, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Jello, mashed potatoes and walnuts… I think my head just exploded. :) Let me know if you try the broken glass jello!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ice cream dreams | ¡hot plate! - December 23, 2010

    […] this is all a delicious allegory for how excited I am about getting to see both my family and Savory (aka, “Second Scoop”) over the next nine […]

Leave a Reply

