’tis the season for popcorn balls

4 Dec

Grandma Marie's famous popcorn balls

I think everyone has special holiday treats that are a part of their family traditions. For the Welkers, it’s Christmas cookies and popcorn balls, lovingly prepared by my godmother, Grandma Marie (you know, the one who makes the heavenly canned peaches).

Grandma Marie used to make these every single year, but it’s been a while since she’s done it–so when my mom called me to tell me they’d gotten a box, I immediately begged for her to send me one. (Love you, Mom!) Popcorn balls are just one of those things that make me think of the holidays and being a kid; as I unwrapped my popcorn ball from this year’s batch, I could practically hear my mom warning me I would get cavities if I ate too many.

Naturally, that never stopped me from devouring the entire thing in one sitting.

Happy holidays to all!

2 Responses to “’tis the season for popcorn balls”

  1. Magneto December 5, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Looks delicious!! Where do I sign up to get sent one.

    • Gina Welker December 6, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

      I might be able to accept a pre-order for 2011, although I have to warn you there are no guarantees supply will be able to keep up with demand. :)

Leave a Reply

