how to find-and keep-a recipe

17 Aug

What do I look for in a man recipe, you ask? Whenever I’m on the prowl for a new dish, I tend to judge candidates by the same criteria:

  • Baggage: If the first thing I see is a list of 20 ingredients, half of which are things I’ve never heard of, I know that recipe is bringing waaaaaaaaaay too much baggage to this relationship and I cut the cord right away.
  • Chemistry: Once I find a recipe that won’t fill up my cart slash empty my wallet on the first date, I look for both balance and spark: Does it have ingredients I either have already at home or that I know I like? Does it let me try something different?
  • Romance: Fresh ingredients lovingly combined to make something unexpectedly delicious will melt this girl’s heart. Shake ‘n Bake will get the door slammed in a recipe’s pre-packaged face.
  • Endurance: You heard me. I usually cook for one and while seconds are pretty much par for the course in my dining routine, sloppiness is not. If this dish doesn’t bring the flavor day after day, it’s on to the next one.
  • Commitment: If a dish passes all of the above, it earns a spot in the regular rotation of Dishes I Will Make for the Rest of My Life. I know you’re wondering at this point exactly how many dishes I try before finding the ones I want to eat forever, and that is none of your business. But I swear it’s not too many.

What about you? What are your recipe must-haves/deal breakers?

Alternate Title: I’m not a foodie, I just munch a lot

4 Responses to “how to find-and keep-a recipe”

  1. Amanda August 17, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    LOVE this post–never realized the similarities between a good relationship and a good man. Thanks for writing stuff that rocks.

  2. Nina August 18, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    I might have to start cooking, you make it sound so amazing!!! PS – Love the alternate title.

  3. Gina Welker August 20, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    @amanda — thank *you* for the compliment! the ‘boy’ connection clicked for me about the third bullet in, and then i just had to go back and rewrite to make it work for the whole thing.

    @nina — you should! i got your recipes yesterday, thanks so much for sending, bebe. :)

  4. Jacqueline August 20, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    My must haves, hmmmm. I prefer no longer than 30 minutes prep work and if it’s longer than that the dish better be amazing or I will never make it again. I’m learning to cook “FRESH” with of course fresh organic ingredients. Also use little or no sodium. It’s a whole new world to go back are relearn how to cook healthy. When I was younger the goal was to just get the meal together as quickly as possible and on the table. As I get older and hopefully wiser, I’m listening to my adult children as they discuss the benefits of going organic. Trying to retool my existing recipes so they are healthier and still have good flavor is sometimes a challenge. It’s a work in progress. Thank you for all the inspiration, Gina.

Leave a Reply

