please pass the possum

3 Aug

No, you have not teleported to an alternate reality–there is an actual possum festival. Here. On Earth. A festival where, get ready for this reality to come crashing down on you, people eat possums.

I found out about this in a clip this morning from News Service Florida, because apparently people running for office in Florida are supposed to flock to the Wausau Funday & Possum Festival to prove they can gobble down fresh-cooked possum with the best of ’em. (They are also still accepting food vendor applications, for all you possum gourmands out there.)

Kidding aside, if I were to find myself at the possum festival this weekend, which I seriously considered for five seconds before I remembered I’ll be out of town, I think I would have to actually try the possum. I’m fully prepared to not like it, but I would at least give the possum a fighting chance to earn my vote.

POP QUIZ:

Crazy things I would never, ever put in my mouth?

Bugs.

Crazy things I’ve actually tried?

I dunno, I love eel and roe, if those count.

And of course I’m curious: What about you? Craziest food you’ve n/ever tried? Any takers on the possum out there?

P.S. : You are welcome for the lack of photos in this post.

9 Responses to “please pass the possum”

  1. Lou-E August 3, 2010 at 2:00 am #

    POP QUIZ:

    Crazy things I would never, ever put in my mouth?
    mealworm larvae, yuk!

    Crazy things I’ve actually tried?
    not sure if eel counts?

    As for Possum?
    I would have to be in the moment i guess.

  2. Liz August 3, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    I love that your tag in this is “crazy”

  3. Gina Welker August 3, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    @Louis: What a cruel world we live in that mealworms are even allowed to HAVE larvae–sick!!

    @Liz: I love that I get to miss out on trying possum this weekend because I’m going to be eating secret double cheeseburgers in Atlanta. WOOT.

  4. Amanda August 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Great post Gina! I would maybe try the possum, just to say I did. And you better bring a secret double cheeseburger home for me! What makes them secret?

    I have tried some pretty interesting items–chief among them geoduck and pigeon. I am a strong believer that anything can taste good if prepared the right way. I have tried chocolate covered crickets, but they are just too, too crunchy for me. Why does anyone eat those suckers?

  5. Gina Welker August 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    @ Amanda, I will be sure to bottle up that double cheeseburger goodness for you. :)

    You definitely win the crazy food prize–for those of you who have not yet had a chance to Google geoduck:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geoduck

    I’m not sure I even want to ask, but how was it??

    • Mimi Torchia Boothby Watercolors September 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      Geoduck is incredibly delicious. If you like stuff like crab and lobster, that is.

      • Gina Welker September 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

        Well if it gets two votes, I will have to give it a whirl sometime! ::gulp::

  6. Mimi Torchia Boothby Watercolors September 6, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    I have eaten snails and alligator. And Ostrich. Ostrich and Alligator were pretty ho hum.. but the snails, I loved them but can’t imagine ever eating them again. Why are we so squeamish?

    • Gina Welker September 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      You’re right about alligator and our squeamish tastes. I’m just thankful cockroaches aren’t secretly delicious; there are some lines that just can’t be crossed!

Leave a Reply

